编辑政策

以下出版条款适用于Bentham Science出版社出版的期刊及电子书。

同行评审

Bentham Science出版社除了特定专利期刊遵循双盲规则审稿外,所有期刊均遵循单盲规则审稿。

所有已投文章取决于期刊编辑团队及独立的第三方同行评审员的评审(通常情况下有3名审稿者)。所有稿件会被迅速审稿,审稿结果取决于期刊主编/电子书编辑综合考虑所有审稿人员的意见。

文字加工及证明

所有文章及电子书章节应当以流利的英文书写,并采用正确的格式以保证文字的统一性。所有投稿的文章/章节在出版前应经过文字加工。

再版重印

所有已出版的高质量文章及章节均可以绑定/非绑定或纸板/电子形式进行销售。

编辑政策

文章/章节必须由作者之一直接提交,不得由其他人代投稿。投稿的同时,主要/通讯作者同时需要代表所有作者(如果有的话)提交版权函。作者应保证稿件(及各部分内容)尚未发表或未向其他出版机构投稿。此外,任何插图、结构及表格如果曾经发表过,此部分必须告知我们,并且出示再出版版权许可。

申诉及投诉

期刊作者如果需要投诉,可向相关期刊的主编进行投诉。对于电子书系列,章节作者可向该电子书的编辑进行投诉。如果是对本出版社进行投诉,可直接联系 Jalil@benthamscience.org

利益冲突

为防止任何潜在利益冲突,和文章及作品相关的任何财务资助必须得到明确许可。

防止抄袭

Bentham Science出版社使用iThenticate软件甄别稿件与其他文章的交叉重复内容。iThenticate通过期刊数据库、网络及综合性文章数据库进行查重比对,生成相似度报告,并标出已提交稿件及材料的重复部分的比例。如存在任何重复内容,我们将会根据出版社的编辑政策进一步详细审查。Bentham Science最多允许20%的相似内容。我们对相似度比例进行进一步审查时持以下观点:

低文章相似度:

iThenticate会对每份提交稿件利用内容追踪模块进行审查。内容追踪模块确保不会自动忽略总体相似度较低的稿件(可能会出现单一来源相似度较高)。单一资源相似度能被接受的最高比例为5%。如果相似度水平高于5%,稿件会被退回

请注意,如果文章内容来自于相似度较低的不同引用资源,但是文章主体内容是罗列所有资源内容,同样会被认为抄袭。

高文章相似度:

有些文章可能总体相似度较低,但是与某个资源相似度较高。对于此种情况,要求总体相似度不高于20%,与某个资源相似度不高于15%。如果相似度水平高于此要求,那么为了防止抄袭及侵犯版权,作者应当重新撰写相似内容部分,并正当引用原始资源。

抄袭类型

鉴于学术稿件都是在已发表文章之后撰写,在合理引用和抄袭之间很难有明确的界限。但是以下特征有助于鉴别不同类型的抄袭内容:

  • 在未得到合理认可的情况下,复制其他人的言语、句子及科研发现观点。
  • 文章循环使用,即自我抄袭。作者在没有正当引用及得到原始资源确认的情况下,使用已发表文章。
  • 不当改写:复制整个段落,未改变原始句子或句子结构,仅修改个别文字。
  • 未加引号或未标注原作者,而完全照搬原文。
  • 正当引用但是不恰当改写原文,同样是一种无心的抄袭。我们不接受稿件以其他语言进行改写或引用。在这两种情况下,无论是改写或者引用,作者都应当合理引用原文。
  • 文摘、简介、材料和方法、以及讨论及结论部分同样可以表明稿件包括抄袭内容。这些内容作者的表述方法多种多样,但是技术短语及标准步骤不应改述。做决定之前,编辑会仔细审核这部分内容。

已出版稿件的抄袭:

经过主编仔细调查和许可后,如果在已出版的稿件中发现有抄袭内容,会从网站撤下该文章。网站上会挂出“撤稿说明”和被抄袭原文的电子版链接,同时还会挂出该期刊的撤稿说明。

版权及授权

开放获取(付费期刊及电子书)

能够接受稿件免费出版电子版供开放获取。开放获取出版能够最大程度地向大众传播文章。我们会向所有作者确认是否愿意为开放获取支付版面费。如果作者没有选择“开放获取”选项,那么该文章将会以标准的付费访问形式出版。

版权(付费期刊及电子书)

向Bentham的期刊/电子书投稿,即代表编辑/作者同意向Bentham Science出版社出让文章版权。投稿时,自动默认编辑/作者已经阅读并同意版权函的所有内容。

科研道德许可及知情许可

针对人类及动物的实验研究,必须提供相关机构审查小组或者道德委员会出具的正式书面审查及批准,或审查及放弃。对于和人类相关的实验,须在试验方法部分提供实验研究对象的知情许可证明,(包括口头或书面)。

当作者使用保密案例资料时,建议能够得到实验对象的许可。如果仅仅是在笼统的案例介绍等这类不包含个人信息,或案例资料已经充分保护实验对象个人信息时,可以不提供知情许可。

在试图取得知情许可时,作者应当充分告知实验对象出版目的、可能给实验对象带来的风险和收益、以及实验对象保留或撤回许可权的权利。对于未成年实验对象,应当从其父母或监护人处取得许可。

关于批准,注册,实验对象知情许可&动物保护的标准协议

所有临床研究都应当遵守赫尔辛基宣言的原则。关于实验对象对于研究的知情许可以及参与研究,作者必须遵守国际医学期刊编辑委员会(www.icmje.org)的指导方针。实验对象姓名,姓名简写,以及医院编号(包括特征)等不得在任何文章中提及。编辑可能会要求作者提供机构审查委员会或者负责研究道德审查委员会的正式审查文件以及推荐信。

已发表文章的勘误和更正

当作者和读者在已发表的内容、作者姓名及机构发现任何错误,或者对出版物的合法性有所质疑时,我们非常欢迎能够与主编沟通。当发生此类情况,期刊会与主编及作者协商刊登勘误说明,或者酌情更新或撤稿。

退稿

正在发表的文章(即已经确认接收稿件准备发表,或者已经以E-pub形式提前发表,即没有正式的卷期次页码信息等)如果包含错误,或者被认为违反出版道德原则如一稿多投、伪造署名权、抄袭、数据造假等,有可能面临退稿。退稿即意味着该文章被移除,并以根据Bentham Science出版社编辑政策退稿的PDF退稿声明替代。

撤稿

已发表的文章(即已有卷期次页码信息)如果违反职业伦理道德,如一稿多投、伪造署名权、抄袭、数据造假等,有可能面临撤稿。

  • 由作者和/或主编签字的撤稿说明标题为“撤稿:《文章名称》”,会出现在期刊目录和本来文章所在之页。
  • 在电子版中,会提供原文章的链接。
  • 在线文章会排在撤稿说明之后,屏幕上会显示链接,读者可自行访问文章。
  • 原始文章的PDF每一页会保留“撤稿”的水印。
  • HTML版本的文件会被移除。

冗余(多次)发表/重复发表

会议文摘及海报,会议上发表的成果(如,告知审查者及实验对象实验结果),成果数据库(未经解释、讨论、比对的数据,和以表格形式或者文字形式以描述不容易以表格展示的数据/信息的结论),我们会谨慎考虑出版。

作者如果希望发表已经在他处发表的文章的翻译版本,应当确保已经获得明确指出该资料已被翻译并发表且明确标示出原始资料的相关许可。主编如果担心抄袭及可能发生的重复发表问题,可能会要求提供相关出版物。

再版许可:

Bentham Science已经和版权结算中心合作,以满足客户授权及版权许可的需求。

版权结算中心的版权链接服务更加轻松快捷地保证了Bentham Science期刊的授权。访问 期刊标题期刊标题并选定想要的内容。然后访问文章文摘并点击“授权及许可”,即可打开授权页面。如果您不能正常选定想要使用的内容或无法获得想要的授权,请联系我们 permissions@benthamscience.org

在从版权所有者处获得书面许可之前,已发表/再版内容不含在内,同时在确认发表之前,该书面许可应当发送至编辑部门。

免责声明

Bentham Science出版社(BSP)所有期刊上发表的内容,包括一切表达的观点,均由作者自行负责。在相关法律同意的最大程度上,BSP(代表自己,并且代表其员工及编辑团队)对由BSP所有期刊相关内容中的观点、方法、操作或产品(包括其中的错误)直接或间接给他人人身或财产带来的伤害或损失(无论经济上或其他方面)不承担任何责任。如产生任何纠纷及索赔,均根据阿拉伯联合酋长王国适用于沙迦酋长王国的法律进行裁定。

广告

联系网站管理员: urooj@benthamscience.org 版权所有 © 2016 Bentham Science

Editorial Policies ::: Bentham Science Publishers

Publication Policies

For journals and eBooks, the following publication policies are applied by Bentham Science.

Peer Review

Bentham Science Publishers follows the single blind peer-review procedure for submissions of all manuscripts to its journals, except for a selected number of patent journals where double blind review is followed.

All submitted articles/eBook chapters are subject to an extensive peer review in consultation with members of the journal’s editorial board and independent external referees (usually three reviewers). All manuscripts/chapters are assessed rapidly and the decision based on all the peer reviewers comments, taken by the journal’s Editor-in-Chief/eBook Editor, is then conveyed to the author(s).

Copyediting and Proofs

Articles and eBook chapters must be written in good English in a clear and correct style in order to maintain uniformity throughout the text. Articles/chapters submitted are copyedited before they are published.

Reprints

High-quality, bound/unbound, print/e-prints can be purchased for all published articles and book chapters.

Editorial Policies

Articles/chapters must be submitted by one of the authors of the manuscript, and should not be submitted by anyone on their behalf. The principal/corresponding author will be required to submit a Copyright Letter along with the manuscript, on behalf of all the co-authors (if any). The author(s) will confirm that the manuscript (or any part of it) has not been published previously or is not under consideration for publication elsewhere. Furthermore, any illustration, structure or table that has been published elsewhere must be reported, and copyright permission for reproduction must be obtained.

Appeals and Complaints

Authors who wish to make a complaint should refer it to the Editor-in-Chief of the relevant journal. For edited eBook series, the chapter contributors may direct their complaints to the Editor of the eBook. Complaints to the Publisher may be forwarded to Jalil@benthamscience.org

Conflict of Interest

Financial contributions to the work being reported should be clearly acknowledged, as should any potential conflict of interest.

Plagiarism Prevention

Bentham Science uses the iThenticate software to detect instances of overlapping and similar text in submitted manuscripts. iThenticate software checks content against a database of periodicals, the Internet, and a comprehensive article database. It generates a similarity report, highlighting the percentage of overlap between the uploaded article and the published material. Any instance of content overlap is further scrutinized for suspected plagiarism according to the publisher’s Editorial Policies. Bentham Science allows an overall similarity of 20% for a manuscript to be considered for publication. The similarity percentage is further checked keeping the following important points in view:

Low Text Similarity:

The text of every submitted manuscript is checked using the Content Tracking mode in iThenticate. The Content Tracking mode ensures that manuscripts with an overall low percentage similarity (but may have a higher similarity from a single source) are not overlooked. The acceptable limit for similarity of text from asingle source is 5%. If the similarity level is above 5%, the manuscript is returned to the author for paraphrasing the text and citing the original source of the copied material.

It is important to mention that the text taken from different sources with an overall low similarity percentage will be considered as a plagiarized content if the majority of the article is a combination of copied material.

High Text Similarity:

There may be some manuscripts with an overall low similarity percentage, but a higher percentage from a single source. A manuscript may have less than 20% overall similarity but there may be 15 % similar text taken from a single article. The similarity index in such cases is higher than the approved limit for a single source. Authors are advised to thoroughly rephrase the similar text and properly cite the original source to avoid plagiarism and copyright violation.

Types of Plagiarism

We all know that scholarly manuscripts are written after thorough review of previously published articles. It is therefore not easy to draw a clear boundary between legitimate representation and plagiarism. However, the following important features can assist in identifying different kinds of plagiarized content. These are:

  • Reproduction of others words, sentences, ideas or findings as one’s own without proper acknowledgement.
  • Text recycling, also known as self-plagiarism. It is an author’s use of a previous publication in another paper without proper citation and acknowledgement of the original source.
  • Poor paraphrasing: Copying complete paragraphs and modifying a few words without changing the structure of original sentences or changing the sentence structure but not the words.
  • Verbatim copying of text without putting quotation marks and not acknowledging the work of the original author.
  • Properly citing a work but poorly paraphrasing the original text is considered as unintentional plagiarism. Similarly, manuscripts with language somewhere between paraphrasing and quoting are not acceptable. Authors should either paraphrase properly or quote and in both cases, cite the original source.
  • Higher similarity in the abstract, introduction, materials and methods, and discussion and conclusion sections indicates that the manuscript may contain plagiarized text. Authors can easily explain these parts of the manuscript in many ways. However, technical terms and sometimes standard procedures cannot be rephrased; therefore Editors must review these sections carefully before making a decision.

Plagiarism in Published Manuscripts:

Published manuscripts which are found to contain plagiarized text are retracted from the journal’s website after careful investigation and approval by the Editor-in-Chief of the journal. A ‘Retraction Note’ as well as a link to the original article is published on the electronic version of the plagiarized manuscript and an addendum with retraction notification in the particular journal.

Copyright and License

Open Access Plus (Subscription Journals and eBooks)

Accepted articles can be published online for free open access. Open access publishing provides maximum dissemination of the article to the largest audience. All authors will be asked to indicate whether or not they wish to pay to have their paper made freely available on publication. If authors do not select the 'Open Access Plus' option, then their article will be published with standard subscription-based access.

Copyright (Subscription Journals and eBooks)

Editors/Authors who contribute in a Bentham’s Journal/eBook will transfer copyright to their work to Bentham Science Publishers. Submission of a manuscript to the respective journals implies that all editors/authors have read and agreed to the content of the copyright letter.

Ethical Approval of Studies and Informed Consent

For human or animal experimental investigations, it is a prerequisite to provide a formal review and approval, or review and waiver, by an appropriate institutional review board or ethics committee, which should be documented in the paper. For investigations undertaken on human subjects, the manner in which the informed consent was obtained from the study participants (i.e., oral or written) should be stated in the Methods section.

Authors are encouraged to obtain patient consent when they use confidential case material. Consent is not necessary in the case of very brief case vignettes which do not contain identifying information or if the case material is disguised sufficiently to prevent identification of the patient.

In obtaining consent, the author(s) should discuss the purpose(s) of publication, the possible risks and benefits to the patient and the patient's right to withhold or withdraw consent. In the case of a minor patient, consent should be obtained from the parent(s) or guardian(s).

Standard Protocol on Approvals, Registrations, Patients Consents & Animal Protection

All clinical investigations must be conducted according to the Declaration of Helsinki principles. Authors must comply with the guidelines of the International Committee of Medical Journal Editors (www.icmje.org) with regard to the patient’s consent for research or participation in a study. Patients' names, initials, or hospital numbers must not be mentioned anywhere in the manuscript (including figures). Editors may request that authors provide documentation of the formal review and recommendation from the institutional review board or ethics committee responsible for oversight of the study.

Errata and Corrections in Published Articles

Authors and readers are encouraged to notify the Editor-in-Chief if they find errors in published content, authors’ names and affiliations or if they have reasons for concern over the legitimacy of a publication. In such cases the journal will publish an ERRATUM in consultation with Editor-in-Chief and authors of the article, and/or replace or retract the article.

Article Withdrawal

Articles in Press (articles that have been accepted for publication or published as E-pub Ahead of Schedule but which have not been formally published with volume/issue/page information) that include errors, or are determined to violate the publishing ethics guidelines such as multiple submission, fake claims of authorship, plagiarism, fraudulent use of data or the like, may be “Withdrawn” from the journal. Withdrawal means that the article files are removed and replaced with a PDF stating that the article has been withdrawn from the journal in accordance with BSP Editorial Policies.

Article Retraction

Published articles (with volume/issue/page information) which may contain infringements of professional ethical codes, such as multiple submissions, bogus claims of authorship, plagiarism, fraudulent use of data or the like are retracted.

  • A retraction note titled “Retraction: [article title]” signed by the authors and/or the Editor-in-Chief is published in the paginated part of a subsequent issue of the journal and listed in the contents list.
  • In the electronic version, a link is made to the original article.
  • The online article is preceded by a screen containing the retraction note. It is to this screen that the link resolves; the reader can then proceed to the article itself.
  • The original article is retained unchanged with a watermark on the PDF indicating on each page that it is “retracted.”
  • The HTML version of the document is removed.

Redundant (multiple) publication/ Re-publication

Abstracts and posters of conferences, results presented at meetings (for example, to inform investigators or participants about findings), results databases (data without interpretation, discussion, context or conclusions in the form of tables and text to describe data/information where this is not easily presented in tabular form) are not considered prior publication.

Authors who wish to publish translations of the articles that have been published elsewhere should ensure that they have appropriate permission(s), indicate clearly that the material has been translated and re-published, and indicate clearly the original source of the material. The Editor-in-Chief may request copies of related publications if he/she is concerned about overlap and possible redundancy.

PERMISSION FOR REPRODUCTION:

Bentham Science has collaborated with the Copyright Clearance Center to meet its customer’s licensing, besides rights & permission needs.

The Copyright Clearance Center’s RightsLink® service makes it faster and easier to secure permission from Bentham Science journal titles. Simply visit Journals by Title and locate the desired content. Then go to the article’s abstract and click on “Rights and Permissions” to open the RightsLink’s page. If you are unable to locate the content you wish to use or are unable to secure the rights you are seeking, please e-mail us at permissions@benthamscience.org

Published/reproduced material should not be included unless written permission has been obtained from the copyright holder, which should be forwarded to the Editorial Office in case of acceptance of the article for publication.

Disclaimer

Responsibility for the content published by Bentham Science Publishers (BSP) in any of its journals, including any opinions expressed therein, rests exclusively with the author(s) of such content. To the maximum extent permitted by applicable law, BSP (on its own behalf, and on behalf of its staff and members of its editorial board) disclaims responsibility for any and all injury and/or damage (whether financial or otherwise) to persons or property, resulting directly or indirectly from any ideas, methods, instructions or products (including errors in the same) referred to in the content of any of BSP’s journals. Any dispute arising, including any claim, shall be governed exclusively by the laws of the United Arab Emirates, as applied in the Emirate of Sharjah.

Advertisement

Webmaster Contact: urooj@benthamscience.org Copyright © 2014 Bentham Science